Welcome on the web site of the Association for the protection of Thirty-One Mille Lake.

 

 Thirthy-One Mile lake regional park project

The municipalities of Bouchette, Déléage, Gracefield and Ste-Thérèse-de-la-Gatineau have partnered to produce a study to create a regional park of Lake Thirty-one Mile. The creation of a regional park aims to promote the development of tourist and recreational potential of the territory. The project will be presented at the next generalannual meeting on August 28th at the Municipal centre on Principal street at 9:30. To read the report go to the following site: http://www.gfgc.ca/resources/Documents/Environment/31MLakeParcRegionalApril2016v3.pdf

 

PUBLIC ACCESS TO 31 MILES IN DÉLÉAGE

We invite you to read the letter (in French) of the MRC on the work and costs of public access project in the Déléage sector. We apologize for the low degree of readability of the second page.

 

Mission statement

 

The mission of “The Association for the Protection of 31 Mile Lake” is to protect the water, the fauna and the flora of the lake, to promote best environmental practices among lake dwellers and other users and to monitor the physical and chemical evolution of the lake water. To learn more about our Association.

The lake in a few words

Lake Thirty-One Mile is a beautiful lake in the Vallée-de-la-Gatineau located east of the Gatineau River and bordered by the municipality of Déléage in the north and the town of Gracefield in the south. With a length of 29 km or 18 miles, it reaches about 6 km or 3.75 miles at its widest part. Its surface area is 4,973 hectares and its deepest point is 88 m. Oriented north-south, it straddles two (2) administrative regions (Laurentides and Outaouais), two (2) MRC (Antoine-Labelle and Vallée-de-la-Gatineau) and five (5) municipalities (Déléage, Ste-Thérèse-de-la-Gatineau, Bouchette, Gracefield and Notre-Dame-de-Pontmain). The lake’s watershed covers an area of 337 km2

We still do not know the origin of the name of Lake Thirty-One-Mile, but the name appears for the first time in an official document in 1852 in the English version of Thirty-One-Mile Lake. It was the map of the Blake Township prepared by the surveyor Alfred Driscolle.

The name Thirty-One-Mile was taken over by another surveyor, John O’Sullivan, in a description made in 1889. By cons, in 1863, Stanislas Drapeau named it Grand Lake indicating it at 22 miles long. Another survey report from 1870 written by Samuel B. Lucas reused the name Grand Lake. Our research has allowed us to know that the Algonquins have named it Lake Papenegoegawong or Papenegean which would mean something related to water falling or flowing. In 1908, the names of Grand Lake of the Commissioner or 31-Milles can be found on a map of the Cameron Township. The name Lake of the Commissioner is reported by Eugène Rouillard in a work entitled. “List of Geographical Names of the Province of Quebec,” published in 1925. Since Lake Pemichangan empties into the Thirty-One-Mile, the addition of two (2) lakes give 31 miles. An approximate measure from Google Earth gives us rather 36 km (22 miles). One source hypothesized that a certain point on the lake is located 31 miles from another unknown place thus serving as a mean of calculation.

The lake water level is regulated by a public dam (X0002894) that discharges in Lake Michel (Mitchell). The operation of the dam is managed by the Centre d’Expertise Hydrique du Québec. The dam width is 27 m and its height is 2.8 m. The first dam on the Thirty-One-Mile was built in 1910 by WC Edwards Co. Limited. This company located in Pembroke Ontario was founded in 1868 and it still owns and operates sawmills. In 1978, at the request of the Department of Recreation, Hunting and Fishing, the dam was rebuilt by the Ministry of Natural Resources. In 1984, the discharge capacity was increased and finally, a reconstruction occurred in 2009. Everything has been done in support of the cottages industry, but it particularly serves to maintain an appropriate water level on the lake trout spawning grounds. That is why the water level is gradually lowered from 1 September each year to 161.90 m above sea level. In the summer season, the water level is generally between 162.12 m and 162.18 m. The total variation is around 30 cm.

On the economic front, the Lake Thirty-One-Mile is a major tourist attraction for the Vallée-de-la-Gatineau. Boaters, canoeists and kayakers, campers and of course fishermen are in abundance mainly due to the presence of lake trout. Cottages are an important economic contributor to local municipalities’ revenues. Assessment of waterfront properties accounts for a large proportion of municipal budget revenues ranging from 53% to 72%. The cottagers’ contribution to the regional economy is not new. Commercial fishing existed on the Thirty-One-Mile in the late 1800s. Whitefish, lake trout, bass and pike were sold at the Ottawa market. Of course floating wood to local sawmill was a common practiced for many years.

Bienvenue au site de l’Association pour la protection du lac des Trente-et-Un Milles.

 

 

AVIS IMPORTANT À TOUS LES MEMBRES

Afin de mettre à jour la liste d’envoi aux membres, nous vous invitons à nous transmettre un courriel en indiquant votre nom dans la section « Objet » à INFO@APL31MILLES.CA. 

 

Notre mission

L’association a pour mission de protéger l’eau, la faune et la flore du lac de promouvoir les bonnes pratiques environnementales auprès de riverains et des usagers et de suivre l’évolution des caractéristiques physico-chimiques de l’eau.  Pour en savoir plus sur notre association.

 

Le lac en quelques mots

Le Lac des Trente-et-Un Milles est un magnifique plan d’eau de la Vallée-de-la-Gatineau situé à l’est de la rivière de la Gatineau  entre la municipalité de Déléage au nord et la ville deGracefield au sud.  D’une longueur de 29 km ou 18 milles, il atteint  environ 6 km ou 3,75 milles dans sa partie la plus large.   Sa superficie est de 4 973 ha et son point le plus profond est de 88 m.  Orienté nord-sud, il chevauche deux (2) régions administratives (Laurentides et Outaouais), deux (2) MRC (Antoine-Labelle et Vallée-de-la-Gatineau) et cinq (5) municipalités (Déléage, Ste-Thérèse-de-la-Gatineau, Bouchette, Gracefield et Notre-Dame-de-Pontmain).  Le bassin versant du lac s’étend sur un territoire de 337 km2

Nous ne connaissons toujours pas l’origine de l’appellation de Lac des Trente-et-Un Milles mais celle-ci  apparaît pour la première fois dans un document  officiel en 1852 dans sa version anglaise de Thirty One Mile Lake.  Il s’agissait du Plan of Township of Blake préparé par l’arpenteur-géomètre  Alfred Driscolle.

L’appellation de Lac des Trente-et-Un Milles a été reprise par un autre arpenteur,  John O’Sullivan,  dans une description faite en 1889.  Par contre, en 1863, Stanislas Drapeau le dénomme Grand Lac en indiquant qu’il a 22 milles de longueur.  Un autre rapport d’arpentage datant de 1870 rédigé par Samuel B. Lucas  rapporte le nom de Grand Lac.  Notre recherche nous a permis de savoir que les algonquins l’auraient nommé Lac Papenegoegawong  ou Papenegean ce qui signifierait  quelque chose en rapport à l’eau qui tombe ou qui coule.  En 1908, les noms  Grand Lac du Commissaire ou 31 Milles se retrouve sur une carte du canton de Cameron.  L’appellation Lac du Commissaire est signalée par Eugène Rouillard  dans un ouvrage intitulé : « Nomenclature des noms géographiques de la province de Québec » édité en 1925.  Puisque le lac Pemichangan se déverse dans le Trente-et-Un Milles, l’addition des deux (2) lacs donnerait 31 milles.  Une mesure approximative à partir de Google Earth nous donne plutôt 36 km (22 milles).

Une de nos sources émet l’hypothèse qu’un point du lac serait à 31 milles d’un lieu quelconque qui servirait point de départ du calcul.

Le niveau du lac des Trente-et-Un Milles est régularisé par un barrage public (X0002894) dont la décharge se fait dans le lac Michel (Mitchell).  L’opération de l’installation est gérée par le Centre d’Expertise Hydrique du Québec.  D’une largeur de 27 m, sa hauteur de retenue est de 2.8m. La première construction du barrage du Lac des Trente-et-Un Milles s’est faite en 1910 par la compagnie WC Edwards Ltée. Cette compagnie de Pembrooke en Ontario a été fondée en 1868 et qui est toujours en opération dans le domaine du sciage. En 1978, à la demande du Ministère du loisir, de la chasse et de la pêche, le barrage a été reconstruit par le Ministère des ressources naturelles. En 1984, sa capacité d’évacuation a été augmentée et finalement, une reconstruction a bel et bien eu lieu en 2009. Le tout a été fait à des fins de villégiature mais sert particulièrement à maintenir un niveau d’eau approprié sur les frayères du touladi. C’est pourquoi ce niveau est graduellement abaissé à compter du 1er septembre de chaque année à 161.90 m  au-dessus du niveau de la mer.  Le niveau du lac pour la saison d’été se situe généralement entre162.12 m et 162.18 m.  La variation totale avoisine les 30 cm.

Sur le plan économique, le Lac des Trente-et-Un Milles représente un attrait touristique majeur pour la Vallée-de-la-Gatineau.   Les plaisanciers, canoteurs et kayakistes, campeurs et bien sûr les pêcheurs le fréquentent abondamment notamment en raison de la présence du touladi (truite grise).  La villégiature représente un apport économique important pour les municipalités riveraines.Au plan financier, l’évaluation foncière des résidences riveraines des municipalités autour du lac compte pour une proportion allant de 53% à 72%La contribution du lac à l’économie régionale n’est pas récente.  Le Trente-et-Un Milles a fait l’objet de pêche commerciale vers la fin des années 1800.  On y pêchait le poisson blanc, le touladi l’achigan et le brochet pour les marchés d’Ottawa.  Le flottage du bois y été pratiqué pendant de nombreuses années.